What makes a Hero?

Everyone is weighing in on Catilyn Jenner getting some kind of award for bravely stepping out as a transgender woman. I suppose I should put my two cents in also on this topic. Do I believe it was brave for her to step up and say ‘Hey look I have always been a woman but my body and had been taught different.’ Yes that was very brave but was it any braver than the dozens even couple hundred people who could say the same thing?
Honestly, I know very little about this award and for most part i try to ignore the news all together because to me our nation has become a pale shameful shadow of the one I grew up in.
I applaud the unique and differnet because what kind of world would this be if we all lived a life like ‘I love Lucy’ or ‘Leave it to Beaver’. Our word has been built upon strong people willing too stand up and say ‘I’m different and if I cannot conform I will make a world of my own.’
What i don’t understand is that now that a known celebrity steps out as transgender it is so brave, but what of the men and women who came before her and paved the way and made her transistion so easy compared to those that came before. It isn’t brave when the way was well paved for her and what was once something people would turn their noses up at is more common and in some circumstances accepted. I just don’t believe that a person is brave for doing something that is already accepted into society. Honestly there isn’t much in our society of late than could be called brave or commendable.

Leave a comment